E-newsletter Contact Us
6 March 2017.

England and Australia's women's team are set to make history when they contest the first ever Day-Night Ashes Test from 9-12 November 2017.

The teams will contest three One-Day Internationals, one Test match and three Twenty20 Internationals, with the team that accumulates the most points across the series to be crowned the winner of the 2017 Women’s Ashes Series. The multi-format points system awards teams two points for an ODI or T20 win and four points for victory in the four-day Test match.

ECB Director of Women’s Cricket Clare Connor said: “We are thrilled to be taking part in the first ever women’s Day-Night Test and hope that this innovation will be exciting for players and spectators alike.

"After we initiated the first ever multi-format Women's Ashes in England in 2013, we are proud to see our sport continue to develop and break new ground.

“We will ensure that the England women's team is fully prepared for the unparalleled challenge of an Ashes series down under, with the sole intention of bringing the trophy back home.”

Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said: “We’re excited to confirm the Ashes schedule in what is going to be a historic summer for Women’s cricket and we’re thrilled to be hosting the inaugural women’s Day-Night Test match at North Sydney Oval.

“The venues that have been confirmed are a result of a strategic decision to give this series the opportunity to gain as much exposure as possible and continue to build women’s cricket as a mainstream sport as we look toward the World T20 in Australia in 2020, of which the final is just three years away.”

Australia is the current holder of the Women’s Ashes, having reclaimed the trophy in 2015. Prior to 2013, the Women’s Ashes was decided on the outcome of Test matches only.

2017-18 Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series

First ODI – AB Field, Brisbane – 22 October 2017

Second ODI – Coffs Harbour International Stadium – 26 October 2017

Third ODI – Coffs Harbour International Stadium – 29 October 2017

Test match (Day-Night) – North Sydney Oval – 9-12 November 2017

First T20 – North Sydney Oval – 17 November 2017

Second T20 – Manuka Oval, Canberra – 19 November 2017

Third T20 – Manuka Oval – 21 November 2017

Women’s Ashes Points System

Test: Win – 4 points

ODI: Win – 2 points

T20: Win – 2 points